Paul Auster on The Bat Segundo Show

I was wondering how long it would take Mr. Segundo to pull off a podcast interview with Paul Auster, but he’s finally done it. Great stuff here, and I always love listening to Auster’s voice. Here’s a bit of their conversation:

Auster: …the only good thing about making money is that you don’t have to think about money. It’s the only value. Because if you don’t have it, you’re crushed. And for a long period in my life, I was crushed…

…Correspondent: Do you still pinch pennies to this day?

Auster: No, no, no. Not at all. No, I’m not a tightwad at all.

Correspondent: (laughs)

Auster: I’m generous. I give good tips. It’s just — the way I live my life, ironically enough, is: I don’t want anything. I’m not a consumer. I don’t crave objects. I don’t have a car. We don’t have a country house. We don’t have a boat. We don’t have anything that lots of people have. And I’m not interested. I barely can go shopping for clothes. I find it difficult to walk into stores. The whole thing bores me so much. I guess the only thing that I spend money on is cigars and food and alcohol. Those are the main expenses…

5 responses to “Paul Auster on The Bat Segundo Show

Leave a Reply

