dear james frey

Here’s a snippet from my open letter to James Frey, author of A Million Little Pieces:

In the America I grew up in, writers didn’t write memoirs. Only the greatest Americans got to write memoirs, and they sure as hell weren’t writers. Chuck Yeager. Richard Nixon. Lee Iacocca. Sam Walton. I’m looking at your bio right now on Wikipedia and I don’t see anything comparable. I do see that you spent five hours in jail and went through drug rehab. Dude, I live in Portland, Oregon; show me someone here who hasn’t been in a clink of some kind.

Click here to see the full monty.

Leave a Reply

