Sukenick Prize

Check it.

FC2, publisher of formally innovative fiction since 1974, announces a new contest. Beginning in fall, 2006, the Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize will be awarded annually to an outstanding book-length manuscript of formally innovative fiction. The contest is open to all writers who have not previously published with FC2. Contest entries will be accepted beginning September 1, 2006 and all entries must be received no later than December 1, 2006. Winner will be announced May 2007.

Full manuscripts, accompanied by a check for the mandatory reading fee of $20, should be sent to:

Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize
C/O Steve Tomasula
The Notre Dame Review
840 Flanner Hall
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556-5639

Final selection of Sukenick Prize winners will be made by the FC2 Board of Directors: Lance Olsen, Lidia Yuknavitch, Michael Martone, Noy Holland, Susan Steinberg, and R. M. Berry. Selection criteria will be consistent with FC2’s stated mission to publish “fiction considered by America’s largest publishers too challenging, innovative, or heterodox for the commercial milieu,? including works of “high quality and exceptional ambition whose style, subject matter, or form pushes the limits of American publishing and reshapes our literary culture.? For contest updates and full information on FC2’s mission, history, aesthetic commitments, authors, events, and books, visit the website at

In the unlikely event that no suitable manuscript is found among entries in a given year, FC2 reserves the right to award no prize.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: