Summer-summer-summertime

I just wrapped my first year of my first full-time teaching gig, and beginning the first summer in five years where I haven’t had to teach or seek out a temporary job to bridge that dreaded June-September gap. I’m looking forward to having a large chunk of time to work on projects I’ve had to shelf due to lack of time, energy or focus, including finalizing a publisher for Everyone I Know on Roads and completing a draft of Complex. And of course, there’s the ever-growing reading list.

However, the lack of updates on this blog over the past month shows how easily I get sidetracked. It hasn’t been for a lack of things to do, though. A lot of my spare moments were spent shepherding my fiction writing class through an e-book project that I’m quite happy with. I’ve spent the better part of this first week sifting through a boxful of CLR submissions. It’s been a long time since I’ve sat so long with a slushpile of manuscripts, and I’d obviously forgotten just how many short stories are written about crises of faith, sibling rivalries, and/or use funerals in some shape or form. And I swear I’ve never read so many stories whose opening paragraphs involve someone smoking a cigarette or starting/driving/riding in/getting out of an automobile.

That’s pretty much all that’s been going on fictively. Now to write a new fiction: I Know What I’m *Really* Going To Do This Summer…

Leave a Reply

